

Minutes of the Meeting of the Lapeer Community Schools Board of Education held on Thursday, December 15, 2016 at the Administration and Services Center

Mike Keller, President, called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Denise Becker, Peggy Bush, Wendy Byard, Mike Keller, Mike Nolan, Gary Oyster

MEMBERS ABSENT: Brad Haggadone

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mr. Oyster led the Board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBLIC COMMENT

President Mike Keller read the following statement:

A Board meeting is a meeting of our school district business that is held in the public. It is not a public meeting.

The Board sets aside time for Public Comment. Public comment is not an open forum and we request presenters address the Board. The Board will not respond to those making public comment, but may direct the Superintendent to follow up with the presenters. That lack of response should not be construed as agreement or disagreement with those comments; it is merely the Board staying in compliance with the Open Meetings Act and the posted agenda for this meeting.

The Board does not comment in public on any student or employee, and ask the presenters to be respectful of any person they comment about.

The following people addressed the Board of Education: Terry Brennan, Laree Schlund, Jeanine Baum, Erica Niemi, Kim Kroll, Karen Clark Hale, Kendra Carter, and Zeb Schons.

PRESENTATION/DISCUSSION

2016 Audit Report by Plante Moran – Eric Formberg and Brianne Huber from the District's independent auditor Plante & Moran, PLLC, presented the 2015-2016 audit results to the Board. The District received an "unmodified opinion" which is the best opinion that can be received.

BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS

Board members thanked Gary Oyster for his service on the Board of Education and his commitment to the students of the Lapeer Community Schools.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Mrs. Bush, supported by Mr. Oyster, that the meeting be adjourned. Roll call: Becker-aye; Bush-aye; Byard-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 6-0. Meeting adjourned at 8:23 PM.

Peggy Bush, Board of Education Secretary